Boat Pose

20121217-002308.jpg

Can someone explain to me the reasoning behind boat pose? Can someone unveil the poetry behind it?

I’m not sure why, but boat pose to me is probably my least favorite pose. The way it looks, the way it feels, there’s nothing about it I like, yet today I felt like practicing. Tonight in the midst of some other extreme, complete, unpoetic bullshit I felt like boat pose was important. Why?

The issue I’m talking about makes me spill out these emotions that are ultimately not worth their weight. It’s a situation that is so time consuming and energy vesting for an end result that gets me nowhere. Or at least that’s what I believe it to be. It’s a rowing of one against the other. Ultimately the rows equal each other out in a way where this “boat” is going nowhere but in circles. And the way the water sloshes and the frustration spins is making me dizzy. Absolutely sea-sick.

So maybe that’s the poetry behind this pose. Perhaps our bodies know better than our minds when it comes to the release we need.

Boat is challenging to me. Absolutely horrifying, not only because of its “ugliness” but also because of the one thing it requires to successfully ease into it. Core strength. So how strong is your core? That’s the real challenge here. That’s the real question.

How firmly do you stand your ground when it comes to the truth of WHAT you stand for?

Tell me your poetry for boat.
I think I just uncovered mine. The poetry that hides behind boat is this;

When you feel that burning at your core what do you hear your heart whisper? Is it an, “enough let it go?” or do you hear, “keep going it’s worth it?” When the rowing gets to be frustrating is it because you are going in circles or is it because your end destination is in sight? Only you know the answer.

So keep in boat a little longer. Row just a little harder. In yoga it all becomes clear eventually.

Namaste.

20121217-003424.jpg

About yogirookie

I'm a young mother, living the real life, full of double double toil and trouble. I find that the woes of life do nothing for a soul searching for balance and that's where yoga comes in. I am by no means disciplined and intense spirituality makes me uncomfortable, but what might seem like a small step to some, if actually a giant leap for me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boat Pose

  1. Emily says:

    I love this! I love the idea of trying to find poetry in all poses — but especially those we strongly dislike. Boat is not that pose for me, somehow I find beauty in the graceful elongating on the neck and spine, the beauty of expanding my chest to open the heart chakra, the delicate balance on the sits bones, and the juxtaposition of tightness/strength in my core/legs while my hands stay gentle posed in a gyan mudra to bring extra calm and groundedness. During my next practice, I think finding poetry in all the asana I do might just be my intention. Thank you for the inspiration!

    • yogirookie says:

      Thank you for explaining your reason for loving the pose. It gave me a different perspective on it. I strongly believe that the poses we hate in yoga are the ones we need to sit with a little more and explore. What is it about this pose we really dislike? What is our body holding onto? Our memory? I am so happy my post inspired you to next time find poetry behind the pose! ❤

      Namaste!

Leave a Reply

